Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn
GCSE Science Courses & Examinations
AQA Combined Science: Trilogy (8464) – most pupils.
A combined science qualification or ‘double award’, covering biology, chemistry and physics to give the equivalent of TWO science GCSEs 
Excellent preparation to study many science courses after Key Stage 4

Accepted for A level courses 


Separate Science Course
AQA Separate Sciences  
GCSE Biology (8461), Chemistry (8462) and Physics (8463) gives THREE GCSEs 
Provides an excellent foundation for A-level
When: All exams take place at the end of the course in Year 11. 
Question types: multiple choice, structured, closed short answer and open response.
Tiers: Foundation; GRADES 1-5 and Higher; GRADES 4-9.
Marked on a 17 point scale. 9-9 is the highest, 1-1 is the lowest.
Weighting: the papers are equally weighted. Each is worth 16.7% of the grade and has 70 marks. All students will take six papers, a Paper 1 and Paper 2 in Biology, Chemistry and Physics.
Combined Science: All examinations are 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Separate Science: All examinations are 1 hour and 45 minutes.
Go to top